FDX MEC FastRead: Guangzhou Hotel Room COVID Testing - 7/26/21
Minimize
FDX MEC FastRead: Guangzhou Hotel Room COVID Testing - 7/26/21

 

fdxmecfastread_squarebanner.png
Guangzhou Hotel Room COVID Testing:
The Information Vacuum
FOM Appendix S:
Honesty. It is a basic requirement of your job that you be honest and truthful in all 
aspects of your employee-employer relationship with the Company. Dishonesty of any 
kind in relations with the Company will not be tolerated.
Cooperation with the Company. Your cooperation includes the requirement that you provide truthful information and that you not conceal information or provide misleading information.
Fellow Pilots:
As you read in our recent FastRead, three crewmembers were recently informed after departing Guangzhou (ZGGG), China that they had been identified by Chinese authorities as COVID positive.
During our meeting with Flight Ops Management after they informed the Association, the Company revealed that they had been aware of post departure pilot hotel room COVID testing by Chinese authorities shortly after we began staying at the Southern Airlines Pearl Hotel in November 2020. Yes, you read that correctly.  
The implications of testing pilots in this way are significant. Crewmembers could be notified enroute from ZGGG or days after leaving ZGGG to destinations (India, Philippines etc.) where arrival with a positive test result is extremely problematic. Crewmembers who remain or return to ZGGG after their inbound crew was deemed positive on departure could face quarantine in the PRC.  
We’ve included portions of FOM Appendix S above as a reminder of the Company’s expectations for acceptable conduct.   
Flight Ops Leadership appears to have made a conscious choice not to disclose this information to you. To date, flight ops management has issued no information about this testing to the pilots. No FCIF, no update to the CIQ. No details on updated evacuation plans. No published effort to adjust system form.
This is unacceptable and we are pursuing all options available to us to resolve this situation.  We recommend pilots take advantage of all COVID-19 testing opportunities prior to a trip that operates to ZGGG or could be revised to operate through ZGGG.
There are two teams. The ALPA team has your health, safety, privacy and quality of life in focus—the other team appears to have chosen to preserve system form at your expense.  
In unity,
Capt. Chris Norman
Block 1 Status Rep
Christopher.Norman@alpa.org
Capt. Rick Perkins
Block 2 Status Rep
Richard.Perkins@alpa.org
Capt. Mark Hollis
Block 3 Status Rep
Mark.Hollis@alpa.org
F/O ANITA SHEW
Block 4 Status Rep
Anita.Shew@alpa.org
Capt. RICH ZINS
Block 5 Status Rep
Rich.Zins@alpa.org
F/O MICHELE LAVIGNA
Block 6 Status Rep
Michele.Lavigna@alpa.org
F/O BRIAN WALD
Block 7 Status Rep
Brian.Wald@alpa.org
F/O BEN MCSWAIN
Block 8 Status Rep
Ben.McSwain@alpa.org
CAPT. BOB CECCHI
Block 9 Status Rep (ANC)
Bob.Cecchi@alpa.org
CAPT. DAVE SVEDEN
Block 10 Status Rep (HKG)
Dave.Sveden@alpa.org
CAPT. NICK BOLANDER
Block 11 Status Rep (Instr.)
Nick.Bolander@alpa.org
F/O TOM MERRILL
Block 13 Status Rep (CGN)
Tom.Merrill@alpa.org
CAPT. TIM FINGERS
Block 14 Status Rep (IND)
Kenneth.Fingers@alpa.org
Capt. BARRY RUTBERG
Block 15 Status Rep (OAK)
Barry.Rutberg@alpa.org
 
 
 
light-textcaster-128.png
light-email.png?r=1507900273370
light-contact.png?r=1507900296237
light-link-128.png?r=1507900315352
light-forwardtofriend-128.png?r=1507900341782
111516_pr_subfooter.png


print




Print